The Commonwealth of The Bahamas (an independent Commonwealth since their Independence from Great Britain in 1973) is a group of some 700 Islands and nearly 2,500 small islets or cays. Approximately 30 of these Islands are inhabited. The two major population centers are the capital, Nassau which is located on New Providence Island and Freeport, located on Grand Bahama Island. The other populated Islands and cays are called Family Islands or “Out Islands” and Long Island is one of them.

Geographically considered part of the Caribbean, the archipelago that encompasses the Bahamas lies in the Atlantic Ocean, extending more than 650 miles from the eastern coast of Florida to the southeastern tip of Cuba. The Tropic of Cancer runs through the Great Bahama Bank and through the Island of Long Island right here in our settlement of Whymms.

Blessed with the perfect location — off the coast of Florida; the perfect climate—averaging a little over 75 degrees; and the perfect environment—crystal clear turquoise blue waters and pearly white sandy beaches, the Islands of the Bahamas are the perfect travel destination for your celebration, honeymoon, or family vacation.